• Aug. 27 - Men's Soccer vs 18Univ of Science and Arts of Oklahoma - W 3-2 - recap - stats
  • Aug. 23 - Men's Soccer vs OLLU - W 3-1 - recap
  • Aug. 21 - Men's Soccer vs Texas Lutheran - T 1-1
  • Aug. 19 - Men's Soccer vs Laredo CC - W 2-0 - recap - stats
  • Nov. 14 - Men's Soccer vs University of St. Thomas - Houston - L 0-1 - recap - stats
  • Nov. 7 - Men's Soccer vs Louisiana State University-Alexandria - W 8-0 - recap - stats
  • Nov. 4 - Men's Soccer vs Wiley College - T 1-1 (2OT) - recap - stats
News Photo
Luis Flores and Angel De La Garza received conference honors.
Men's Soccer - Fri, Nov. 8, 2013 - by Patricia Constantin

WACO, TEXAS (Nov. 8, 2013) -- Our Lady of the Lake University men's soccer co-captain Luis Flores has been named Defensive Player of the Year, while teammate Angel De La Garza was named Newcomer of the Year in the Red River Athletic Conference. The members of the 2013 Red River Athletic Conference Men's Soccer All-Conference Team and postseason award-winners were voted by the conference's head coaches.

Below are the members from Our Lady of the Lake University who were selected to this year's team:

First Team

Yared Temesgen: Senior Midfielder from Awasa, Ethiopia
Angel De la Garza: Freshman Defender from Brownsville, Texas
Luis Flores*: Senior Defender from Matamoros, Mexico

*Indicates player is a repeat first-team selection

Second Team

Robert Alexe: Junior Forward from Chicago, Ill.
Elias Cortes: Junior Midfielder from Houston, Texas
Zackery Brewer: Junior Goalkeeper from Denton, Texas
Champions of Character Team
Luis Flores: Senior Defender from Matamores, Mexico

M - Soccer

The NAIA Champions of Character program aims to instill five core values in NAIA athletes, coaches: respect, responsibility, integrity, servant leadership, and sportsmanship. Our Lady of the Lake University shares and supports these values and strives to promote the Champions of Character program by working with students, coaches through our Champions of Character educational program. For more information on the Champions of Character program, click here: www.championsofcharacter.org.